A Shepherd’s Prayer of Gratitude

It’s Christmas Eve and so many emotions fill my heart. I see the world around me, all of the hurt, the uncertainty, the pain and suffering. I’ve heard the news, innocent children hunted down for no apparent reason. Our country is divided because of politics and economics. Friends and family have been disillusioned by everything from the government to religion. The night is dark, and uncertainty lurks all around.

Is there hope anymore? Is there something more? Does this world have more to offer than pain and dissatisfaction?

But then worries turn to wonder! Hope springs anew! An angel brings a message! Born in Bethlehem is a baby! This baby is special! This baby is the one we’ve been looking for! It seems strange that hope would come from such a lowly place, but I believe in my heart that its real!

Years go by, that baby is now all grown up! The words He speak confirm what the angel said that night so long ago! He has come to bring life – not to steal, kill, and destroy! Not only does he give new life, he brings it more abundant!

Jesus thanks for coming to a dark world to be my Savior! Thanks for being a hope, when I had none! Thanks for giving me life!

For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. (Luke 2:11)

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. (John 10:10)

Leave a Reply

