Spring Training

In less than four weeks baseball will be back in full swing. I can not wait for the Reds to start playing baseball again. My hope and dream is that this is the year they win it all. It has been twenty years since they last won the World Series. I was very, very young, and I do not even remember that year! Hopefully this is the year they recapture the world title!

But long before they can begin thinking about October baseball, long before the field is ready in Cincinnati, the players will begin training in Arizona.  Many players have already been training for months, some even hardly took time off from last season.  Why do they put so much work into training.  Most of the players have been playing baseball for all of their lives, why do they need more practice?  Because they know they can always get better.  You will not get to October if you do not start by training hard in March and even before that.

The Bible says that we are to study to shew ourselves approved unto God (II Timothy 2:15).  I am trying to learn that if I want to be the best that I can be in my life and in my ministry that I must learn to train in and study the Word of God.  This semester I have been taking Hebrew History with Dr. Cash.  It has been a challenging class having to do 12 projects on books of the Old Testament, however I have  learned so much about God, and about how He deals with His people.  My prayer is that as I study the Bible, both in this class as well as my others, I can become all that God wants me to be. 

I do not know how the Reds will do this year, but hopefully it will end in October with a World Series.  I do know that I want to get to the end of my life and ministry and hear Jesus say, “Well Done.”  This will only happen if I put the hard work into training and studying right now.

One thought on “Spring Training

  1. Really enjoyed this. People keep learning and stretching themselves in an effort to get better. Every person, no matter what his field, has room for improvement.

    If only preachers (including you and I) would be willing to put in the time to grow as close as possible to Christ.

Leave a Reply

